Two business alumni have been awarded Tribute Awards for 2014

March 5, 2015

Two Faculty of Business Administration alumni are being recognized by Memorial University.

Jane Rowe, B.Comm. (Hons.)(Co-op)’81 and Robert Crosbie, B.Comm.(Co-op.)’79 will receive the Alumna of the Year and J.D. Eaton Alumni Award respectively. The awards will be presented at the 33rd Annual Alumni Tribute Awards Ceremony.


Jane Rowe is Memorial's 2014
Alumna of the Year.

“This year, our Tribute Award recipients are exceptional individuals who excel in their chosen fields, yet also display incredible commitment to their communities and Memorial University,” said Bob Dowden, chair, Alumni Tribute Awards selection committee. “The entire field of nominees this year was incredibly strong, a fact that further distinguishes those individuals who’ve been selected. I congratulate each one of the 2014 recipients. They have made remarkable contributions in many different ways and are all very deserving of these honours.”

As this year’s Alumna of the Year Award recipient, Ms. Rowe will receive the highest honour bestowed on a Memorial graduate. Immediately following graduation from Memorial University, she completed an MBA from York University's Schulich School of Business. Ms. Rowe then went on to build a stellar reputation during a 23-year career with Scotiabank. There she took on progressively senior roles, including president and CEO of Roynat Capital, president and CEO of Scotia Mortgage Corporation and was executive vice-president of Scotiabank before leaving in 2010. Ms. Rowe joined the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan, where she oversees an $18-billion portfolio as head of the private equity and long-term equities groups. She is one of Canada’s top financial leaders and was recognized as a WXN Top 100 Canada’s Most Powerful Women in 2012. Ms. Rowe is a longtime and dedicated supporter of numerous charitable boards, associations and fundraising initiatives, notable among which are YWCA Toronto, United Way Toronto and Memorial University.


Robert Crosbie is the recipient of
Memorial's 2014 J.D. Eaton Alumni Award

The J.D. Eaton Alumni Award recognizes outstanding volunteer contributions to Memorial and Mr. Crosbie is a very deserving recipient. He is the chairman of the board of St. John’s, N.L.-based Crosbie Group Ltd. and serves as a member of the board of directors of Emera Newfoundland and Labrador, ASCO Canada and Forent Energy. He is also the past chairman of the board of Marine Atlantic Inc. He is a steadfast supporter of Memorial’s Faculty of Business Administration and the entire university. He has served on a number of committees for the Faculty of Business Administration and is currently the chair of the Dean’s Advisory Board. He is a strong supporter of student success programs at Memorial and has created a fund for students and career-planning initiatives. Over the years, Mr. Crosbie has extended support to various scholarships at Memorial and in 1998, established the Rob Crosbie Scholarship for International Study. Mr. Crosbie also served as co-chair of the St. John’s regional volunteer committee for Memorial’s recent and very successful Dare To fundraising campaign.

Ms. Rowe and Mr. Crosbie were recently profiled by Alumni Affairs and Development in their Alumni Spotlight feature. Follow the links below to hear from the award winners in their own words.

David Penney