Advisory Board

The advisory board of the Faculty of Business Administration provides high-level, strategic advice to the dean and senior management as well as to Memorial University's president, vice-president (academic) and vice-president (research) regarding business developments and faculty activities.

The board's objective is to help us become a renowned leader in the areas of education, research and outreach for the benefit of our students, faculty, staff and alumni as well as businesses in Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada and the world.

Advisory Board Research Impact Award

The Advisory Board Research Impact Award highlights business research at Memorial that has real-world implications. The award is selected by the faculty’s advisory board who are leaders in the business community.

In this innovative approach, the advisory board evaluates the research impact on teaching, practice or policy, and the extent to which the research could impact their own business practice. It also gives the advisory board an opportunity to understand what we do here as researchers and ensures we are connecting to the community.

2021-2022 Members


Advisory-Board-Chairman-Karl-SmithKarl Smith (chair)

Retired executive
Fortis Inc.

Advisory-Board-Member-Tom-BurseyTom Bursey

Vice-president, corporate services and chief financial officer
Council of Canadian Academies


Advisory-Board-Member-Mark-CollettMark Collett

Chief operating officer
Crosbie Group of Companies


Advisory-Board-Member-Rick-DawRick Daw

Retired partner


Advisory-Board-Member-Brian-GrovesBrian Groves



photo-not-availableDavid Jones

Manager investment evaluation
Nalcor Energy


Advisory-Board-Member-Dorothy-KeatingDorothy Keating

Noseworthy Chapman


Advisory-Board-Member-Kim-KeatingKim Keating

Chief operating officer
Cahill Group


Advisory-Board-Member-David-KingDavid King

Canadian director
Robert Half


Advisory-Board-Member-Erin-OldfordErin Oldford

Interim associate dean, undergraduate programs
Faculty of Business Administration

Advisory-Board-Member-John-ParsonsJohn Parsons

Managing Partner
McKinsey and Company Calgary


Advisory-Board-Member-Greg-PopeGregory Pope

Chief financial officer
Golf Town


Advisory-Board-Member-Kristy-SheppardKristy Sheppard

Director of economic development
Nunatsiavut Government

Advisory-Board-Member-Florentine StrzelczykDr. Florentine Strzelczyk

Provost and vice-president (academic) pro tempore
Memorial University of Newfoundland

Advisory-Board-Member-Vianne-TimmonsDr. Vianne Timmons

President and vice-chancellor
Memorial University of Newfoundland

Advisory-Board-Member-Meng-Cathy-ZhuMeng (Cathy) Zhu



Faculty of Business Administration

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000